Involvement opportunities

Greetings, colleagues. . .

I was delighted to meet many of you at the recent NACADA conference in Nashville; I hope all of you enjoyed the conference as much as I did.  I found many of the sessions really informative and interesting.

I wanted to call your attention to a couple opportunities for involvement in the Faculty Advising commission in the next few weeks.

CAS standards review.  The Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education has developed “best practice” standards for many areas of higher education, including academic advising.  This year, the standards related to academic advising are up for review; you can see a copy of those standards here on NACADA’s web site.  Marsha MIller at the NACADA Executive Office is looking for one or two faculty advisors to provide input on the project.  Much of the language in the standards is “boiler plate,” so this project shouldn’t take more than a few hours of your time.  If you need more information about the project and / or are interested in helping out NACADA, please contact Marsha directly (miller *at* ksu.edu) not later than the beginning of November.

Faculty Advising commission committees.  One of my goals in the coming year is to get more of you involved in the commission.  To that end, I’m looking for Steering Committee members from Regions 1, 4, 6 and 10.  I’m also looking for regional reps for all regions except 2 and 9.  I expect the time commitment for either position to be minimal–probably no more than 20 – 30 hours across the next year.  If neither of those appeals to you, please consider volunteering for either the proposal review & publications committee or the communications committee.  You may volunteer for any of the four at any time, but I’d appreciate hearing from you by the beginning of November if possible.

I have several activities in mind for the commission this year, including the following:

  • sponsoring one or more webinars focused on topics of interest to faculty advisors
  • adopting a page in NACADA’s Clearinghouse of Academic Advising Resources
  • developing a “road show” that can be used to raise awareness about academic advising in general and faculty advising more specifically

I’m eager to incorporate your ideas for the Commission as well.  If you have suggestions for projects you’d like us to consider in the coming year, please drop me an e-mail any time (robert.hurt *at* gmail.com). 

Comments are closed.

