Are you stressed?

Perhaps you read the recent article at Forbes.com on the most and least stressful jobs of 2013; it received some attention in academics because the author, Susan Adams, asserted that university professors have the least stressful job. (If you haven’t yet read the article, I encourage you to check it out: The Least Stressful Jobs of 2013.

While I’m confident all of us recognize that stress exists in any position (including our own!), the article got me thinking: what are the most significant sources for faculty advisors? For me, organizational politics tops the list. I too often find myself engaged in plans that would make Machiavelli proud (and I’m not sure that’s a goal I want to achieve).

If you’d like to share some of your own significant stressors, please do so in the comments below and / or on our Faculty Advising commission listserv.

Comments are closed.

